Asterisk, and other worldly endeavours.

A blog by Leif Madsen

Ask the Expert!


UPDATE (October 7, 2009):

This post didn’t quite generate the type of questions I was hoping for, and because of that I’m not able to generate a knowledgeable and informed response that would be overtly useful. However, I will leave this topic open for the next little while in the hopes some more questions can be generated. It is entirely possible I haven’t been specific enough in my request for the type of questions I’d like to answer, so here goes.

I’m looking for questions related to Asterisk implementation issues, specifically related to problems in the dialplan or /etc/asterisk configuration. For example, a good question might be proposed as;

“I have a call center solution I’m building, and I’ve been unable to get the member status to be consistently accurate. Here are the relevant parts of my configuration currently, and the console output of my mostly correct but inaccurate status. Thanks!”

Hopefully this helps to clear up any confusion I may have generated by the generally asked topic of Ask the Expert, and will lead to better questions and a fruitful article in the future. Thanks!

I figured that due to my limited time to write blog posts, and my intent to try and write at least one blog post a week, I’d do a simple “Ask the Expert” type of article. I’ll take 5 of your questions and answer them in a blog post later this week (hopefully on Thursday). So if you have some particular problem you’re trying to get solved, or have a question about implementation, now would be a a great time to get the answer you’re looking for.

Ideally you’ll ask questions related to Asterisk 🙂 I tend to specialize in queues and database integration, so those are the realms you’ll probably get the most indepth answer. Or if you just have a problem you’re trying to solve in dialplan that you can’t quite get to work, let me know, as I love creating clever dialplans.

Written by Leif Madsen

2009/09/08 at 8:12 am

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What’s the best way to make outbound calls from certain extensions change their caller ID name to the company name?

    Ian Service

    2009/09/08 at 9:17 am

  2. Is it possible to do hot-desking between Asterisk servers? How?

    By hot-desking I mean that a person can login with their extension to a phone on one Asterisk server, logout and then login (with the same extension) to a phone on another Asterisk server. The Asterisk servers are all internal or connected together and the person will get their calls no matter which phone/server they are currently using.

    Martin Glazer

    2009/09/08 at 10:22 am

  3. I consider the Codec Negotiation Patch by Sippy Software http://www.rtpproxy.org/wiki/AsteriskCodecNegotiationPatch
    a valuable patch to eliminate unnecessary resource transcoding wastage and G.729 codec provisioning. This patch has been properly submitted and kept up to date so why has it not been implemented?
    Are there some architectural issues and should I not use it?

    What would be really nice is some form of a location parameter that is assigned to a peer with a location to location codec choice matrix.

    Thanks
    Mike

    Michael Knill

    2009/09/09 at 1:41 am

  4. From twitter:

    @oej: @leifmadsen How do I get a lamp on my phone to light up if ONE member of a group, anyone, is available?

    Leif Madsen

    2009/09/09 at 7:35 am

  5. How come a soft phone has no trouble registering and communicating across a voiptunnel yet an ATA on the same network is unable to register?

    Syd Carter

    2009/09/09 at 9:49 pm

    • This isn’t really an appropriate type of question, as the problem isn’t general enough to be useful for lots of people. This is a specific implementation problem on your network.

      In addition, I wouldn’t be able to solve the issue due to a lack of information.

      Leif Madsen

      2009/09/10 at 9:00 am

  6. Can you add 2 extra Special Characters for Pattern Matching
    so it is easier to match text
    “T” matches any lower + UPPER case letter
    “?” matches any digit from 0-9 + lower + UPPER case letter

    a different possibility is to support regx

    also how do I make an IVR that matche 1-X digits at the moment I have to make 2 entryes _X & _X. as _X! will not wait for the timeout

    exten => _[0-9a-zA-Z][0-9a-zA-Z][0-9a-zA-Z]!,(“Match a 3+ char”)
    exten => _!,1,NoOP(“match anything – This give a warning”)

    (future possibility)
    exten => _TTT!,1,NoOP(“Match a 3+ char – Future option”)
    exten => _?!,1,NoOP(“Match any 3+ string – Future option”)

    Mark Petersen

    2009/09/10 at 8:41 am

    • While these are good ideas, I’m not a developer, and this is beyond the scope of my article 🙂

      Leif Madsen

      2009/09/10 at 9:01 am

  7. I’m interested in finding out which higher ed institutions have successfully migrated to a full Asterisk implementation. I’m aware of Sam Houston. I’m specifically interested in smaller colleges using distributed architecture with multiple servers.

    jenna

    2009/10/30 at 11:23 am

  8. I have this situation:

    Everyone at the company shall be reachable on one extension, efen if some have several phones. That is, if you call me on 24, both my desk phone, my soft phone and my cell phone with sip should ring. When I’m in a call, it should return busy, even if two of my devices are “available”. These people reside on queues, and can set a presence-status to if they are available or not; set by e.g. jabber or an extension like *11.

    Today, I have done this by making extensions in realtime extensions_conf with e.g. 24 Dial(SIP/liljegren1&SIP/liljegren2), adding a manager that keeps track of the status. In the queues, I use Local/24@local for members, and the manager pauses them when they are in a call etc. But I have a nagging feeling that I should be able to do this much easier…

    Fredrik Liljegren

    2010/02/23 at 1:42 am

  9. Hi Leif, I am about to order a bunch of business cards for my new corporate job, and I want to put a QR code on them that has a vcard embedded. I am banging my head against the wall to try to include a photo or a photo URL that links to my business logo.

    How can I do that?

    Ryan Ward

    2012/11/21 at 12:23 pm


Comments are closed.

